Important: These forums are for discussions between SkyDemon users. They are not routinely monitored by SkyDemon staff so any urgent issues should be sent directly to our Customer Support.

IGN 1/500000 map for France

Author
Xavier
Too Much Forum (2.4K reputation)Too Much Forum (2.4K reputation)Too Much Forum (2.4K reputation)Too Much Forum (2.4K reputation)Too Much Forum (2.4K reputation)Too Much Forum (2.4K reputation)Too Much Forum (2.4K reputation)Too Much Forum (2.4K reputation)Too Much Forum (2.4K reputation)
Group: Forum Members
I'm a PPL instructor in France.
A French regulation makes it mandatory to overfly cities and towns at a minimum height depending on the size of the town.
The official regulation (arreté de 1957) says that the size of the town are shown on the IGN (Institut Geographique National) 1/500000 map.
So I must in practice teach navigation with that IGN map as it is the only source of information available.
As it is not available in Skydemon I just cannot recommend Skydemon to my students, and they go for SDVFR or Flymate instead. It's a shame as Skydemon is I think the best VFR navigation app. Once they get used to another app, they won't change.

Gerhard66
G
Too Much Forum (5.1K reputation)Too Much Forum (5.1K reputation)Too Much Forum (5.1K reputation)Too Much Forum (5.1K reputation)Too Much Forum (5.1K reputation)Too Much Forum (5.1K reputation)Too Much Forum (5.1K reputation)Too Much Forum (5.1K reputation)Too Much Forum (5.1K reputation)
C82R - 1/2/2022 10:20:31 AM
A French regulation makes it mandatory to overfly cities and towns at a minimum height depending on the size of the town.
The official regulation (arreté de 1957) says that the size of the town are shown on the IGN (Institut Geographique National) 1/500000 map.
So I must in practice teach navigation with that IGN map as it is the only source of information available.