Important: These forums are for discussions between SkyDemon users. They are not routinely monitored by SkyDemon staff so any urgent issues should be sent directly to our Customer Support.

SkyDemon and GPS-Protocoll

Author
b
Too Much Forum (60 reputation)Too Much Forum (60 reputation)Too Much Forum (60 reputation)Too Much Forum (60 reputation)Too Much Forum (60 reputation)Too Much Forum (60 reputation)Too Much Forum (60 reputation)Too Much Forum (60 reputation)Too Much Forum (60 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Hello everybody - this is my first Post as I am new to SkyDemon.

I have a Tablet-PC (Panasonic Toughpad FZ-G1) with Windows 8 installed. This Tablet had a internal dedicated GPS-Receiver installed which worked with the Trial-Version of Skydemon well for the 30 Test-Minutes. As it was a dedicated GPS-Reeceiver that means, my Tablet had no WWAN-capability. So I got it upgraded by Panasonic with a SIERRA WWAN-Card with GPS-capability on board and got the dedicated GPS-Receiver superseded by a USB-Connector. Unfortunately I did not pay attention to the Protocol the dedicated GPS-Receiver delivered.

The SIERRA WWAN-card works fine with the Panasonic GPS-Viewer-Application and gets a Fix immediately. The GPS-Receiver is set to COM 7 at 4800 Baud. It deliveres Protocolls with $GP, $GL and $GN. If I now connect SkyDemon to COM 7 at 4800 Baud it will not get any Fix. But it does not complain that it could not find a Receiver! If I connect SkyDemon to any other COM-Port, it complains that it cannot get a GPS-Signal. So obviously Skydemon detects the Receiver on COM 7 but can not use the Signal itself.

I then tried a old external Holux GPSLIM 236-Bluetooth-Receiver. This connects via BT to COM 40 at 38400 Baud and is recognized by Panasonics GPS-Viewer-Application as well as Skydemon and both get a FIX with the Receiver. If I have a look at the transmitted Protocol in the GPS-Viewer-Application, I can see only $GP-Messages!