SkyDemon Forums

Autopilot + COM freq. over BT to RS232

http://forums.skydemon.aero/Topic36009.aspx

By vikino - 8/28/2023 7:08:25 PM

vikino - 8/8/2023 8:27:57 PM
Or maybe more user and installation friendly is IRXON BT578 v3 or BT580, they work with Apple and Android well...

Btw, IRXON is plug and play, it is set to 9600baud so every radio, at least Garmin, Trig, KRT2, Funke, all those are 9600 by default and accept NMEA0183 messages, as well as autopilot controllers, also mostly by default 9600bps, so IRXON could be the way to make it as compactible device... Im ready to test Smile

By Tim Dawson - 8/29/2023 9:38:00 AM

If you could assure us that a bunch of pilots had purchased that device and confirmed it was working with their equipment, we could perhaps schedule some development time to investigate sending data to it.
By vikino - 8/29/2023 5:46:42 PM

Tim Dawson - 8/29/2023 9:38:00 AM
If you could assure us that a bunch of pilots had purchased that device and confirmed it was working with their equipment, we could perhaps schedule some development time to investigate sending data to it.

I have tested it on Garmin, KRT2, Trig and Funke radios, and Dynon EFIS D100 + AP40 autopilot and works fine. I know about at least 5 pilots who whould appreciate this, when i tell someone that garmin can send freq to radio, they need it in skydemon too Smile
By Marc25 - 9/25/2023 2:10:44 PM

Hello Tim & Vikino, 

I like a lot SD for my flight missions and will be very happy if SD will drive my AP via basic NMEA / 232.
I have basic configuration: G5 + GMC507 + 2 x GSA28, just wait for SD to be connected in some way ๐Ÿ™‚ ( I don't want AERA )

Will be happy to help !

By vikino - 9/25/2023 2:27:28 PM

Marc25 - 9/25/2023 2:10:44 PM
Hello Tim & Vikino, 

I like a lot SD for my flight missions and will be very happy if SD will drive my AP via basic NMEA / 232.
I have basic configuration: G5 + GMC507 + 2 x GSA28, just wait for SD to be connected in some way ๐Ÿ™‚ ( I don't want AERA )

Will be happy to help !



Marc25 - 9/25/2023 2:10:44 PM
Hello Tim & Vikino, 

I like a lot SD for my flight missions and will be very happy if SD will drive my AP via basic NMEA / 232.
I have basic configuration: G5 + GMC507 + 2 x GSA28, just wait for SD to be connected in some way ๐Ÿ™‚ ( I don't want AERA )

Will be happy to help !


Yes, the same me, aera 760 is terrible for planning...
Also your setup will work the same way i wrote before...Smile
By vikino - 9/28/2023 7:11:38 AM

Tim Dawson - 8/29/2023 9:38:00 AM
If you could assure us that a bunch of pilots had purchased that device and confirmed it was working with their equipment, we could perhaps schedule some development time to investigate sending data to it.
Tim, this is how Aera works on a single RS232 port, exacstly this way could SD work over BT-RS232 Smile
Controlling AP, COM freq and receiving traffic data...

By vikino - 9/15/2023 7:59:23 AM

Hi Tim, 
next what you can easily integrate is AirTraffic AT-1 which you already support, but over wifi...
This would be great also over RS232, which is standard wired in avionics...
You can use some simple window in "third party devices" - bluetooth, there you select BT-RS232 adapter and tick what equipment you have on rs232 connected, like Autopilot, COM radio, AT-1 (TRX-1500) and it could easily work with SD without thinking about only one device what i connect over wifi Smile
I can help you with develop, just leave me message.
By vikino - 6/1/2023 5:02:31 AM

Hi all, there has been a lot of discussions about this, but never resulted in any way.
Is it possible, somehow, to get out from SkyDemon over bluetooth to RS232 converter some data?
From my current Aera 760 i have over serial port connected autopilot and Trig radio so Aera can feed AP with planned track and when i click on airfields com freq it sets stand by freq. But, it is Garmin and their weird navigation point stupid names, airfields without names and so on...

This will be nice to have on SkyDemon, are there some possibilities?
Vitek