Important: These forums are for discussions between SkyDemon users. They are not routinely monitored by SkyDemon staff so any urgent issues should be sent directly to our Customer Support.

Red aircraft icon during flying

Author
PH-BAS
Too Much Forum (393 reputation)Too Much Forum (393 reputation)Too Much Forum (393 reputation)Too Much Forum (393 reputation)Too Much Forum (393 reputation)Too Much Forum (393 reputation)Too Much Forum (393 reputation)Too Much Forum (393 reputation)Too Much Forum (393 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Dear fellow skydemon users,

I've been using skydemon for my integrated ATPL study for about 3 months now. I'm using the software on my ipad 3 with an external gps (Garmin GLO with bluetooth) to track and log my solo flights for review. The software has been running great, however since last week my flight logs are messed up and i can't figure out why. The logs (breadcrumbs) are missing parts of data and showing completely different tracks. I haven't made any changes to my set-up although I did notice my aircraft icon was red during flight while it used to be yellow.
Can anyone help me out? Thanks in advance!

Greetings,
Bas
stevelup
stevelup
Too Much Forum (70K reputation)Too Much Forum (70K reputation)Too Much Forum (70K reputation)Too Much Forum (70K reputation)Too Much Forum (70K reputation)Too Much Forum (70K reputation)Too Much Forum (70K reputation)Too Much Forum (70K reputation)Too Much Forum (70K reputation)
Group: Moderators
If it's red, then that means the GPS signal hasn't changed for the past few seconds, and SD assumes it has been lost.

One setting on the iPad which massively improves the reliability of external GPS devices is:-

Settings > Privacy > Location Services > (Scroll all the way to the bottom) > System Services

Turn off 'Setting Time Zone' and then reboot your device.
PH-BAS
PH-BAS