Important: These forums are for discussions between SkyDemon users. They are not routinely monitored by SkyDemon staff so any urgent issues should be sent directly to our Customer Support.

Lee-on-Solent updated information

Author
G
Junior Member (13 reputation)Junior Member (13 reputation)Junior Member (13 reputation)Junior Member (13 reputation)Junior Member (13 reputation)Junior Member (13 reputation)Junior Member (13 reputation)Junior Member (13 reputation)Junior Member (13 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Hi,

I've been using your brilliant software for a few years now, and if interested I have some updated information with regards to Lee-on-Solent airfield, as this is where I am based.

I was just thinking in these strange times and with the amount of recent reports of runway excursions and airspace infringements, any help would be welcomed.

The gliders are no longer at Lee. They left about 2 years ago back in mid 2018 (https://www.portsmouth.co.uk/business/anger-decades-old-gliding-club-says-it-feels-forced-leave-its-home-daedalus-1034306). Currently the chart still shows Lee-on-Solent winch launching symbol, and the warning when approaching the ATZ when in flight.

The runway lengths shown on the plate is quite different to what is available for take off and landing. E.g LDA is 1025m. I have attached the AIP entry. Also on the Aerial Photography it shows the starter extension on the 124m of unusable/taxi way asphalt. Where in reality the Extension is arrowed area to the NE on the photography.

And finally, a warning SQUAWK of 4306 should be used when entering Lee airspace as advertised on their website ( https://www.solentairport.co.uk/solent_airport/pilotbriefing.aspx ).
I think this is due to the very close proximity of Southampton and Solent airspace, and helps them identify unidentified traffic intentions.

Thanks
Attachments
AIP-Entry.pdf (497 views, 37.00 KB)
Tim Dawson
Tim Dawson