Important: These forums are for discussions between SkyDemon users. They are not routinely monitored by SkyDemon staff so any urgent issues should be sent directly to our Customer Support.

Decommissioned VOR on charts

Author
A
Too Much Forum (81 reputation)Too Much Forum (81 reputation)Too Much Forum (81 reputation)Too Much Forum (81 reputation)Too Much Forum (81 reputation)Too Much Forum (81 reputation)Too Much Forum (81 reputation)Too Much Forum (81 reputation)Too Much Forum (81 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Hi

I'm new to SkyDemon and still evaluating it - with so much else around it's tough to make a choice.  Overall I'm impressed with usability etc. but am concerned that the charts show up a VOR that was decommissioned over 3 years ago.  It is in South Africa, which is a supported region, so I was a little surprised.  And to be honest quite concerned - if a VOR hasn't been corrected, what else?

The guilty VOR is HBV, which was withdrawn by the CAA on this AIP Supplement:

I hoped that existing users may be able to shed some light on experiences you've had?  Is my concern misplaced?

Thanks
Andrew

pilot-byom
p
Too Much Forum (957 reputation)Too Much Forum (957 reputation)Too Much Forum (957 reputation)Too Much Forum (957 reputation)Too Much Forum (957 reputation)Too Much Forum (957 reputation)Too Much Forum (957 reputation)Too Much Forum (957 reputation)Too Much Forum (957 reputation)
Even if VORs are decommissioned they, or better their positions, are still used in the definition of Viktor ways and as waypoints on GPS overlays. Only very few are renamed from VOR to WPT, afaik to not confuse older documents. Even though GPS finally came to our cockpits rather late and is now quite popular, that doesn't mean aviation became less traditional.

Short, it is common to see decommissioned VOR on aviation charts.
Andrew
A