Important: These forums are for discussions between SkyDemon users. They are not routinely monitored by SkyDemon staff so any urgent issues should be sent directly to our Customer Support.

GDL90 implementation/Stratux Bugs

Author
b
Too Much Forum (212 reputation)Too Much Forum (212 reputation)Too Much Forum (212 reputation)Too Much Forum (212 reputation)Too Much Forum (212 reputation)Too Much Forum (212 reputation)Too Much Forum (212 reputation)Too Much Forum (212 reputation)Too Much Forum (212 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Hi,
I'm new to Skydemon and still in my 30 days trial. I really love the app so far and I'm thinking about buying it. The best feature, IMO, is the GDL 90 support with traffic warnings, so it can interface with my Stratux.

However, I've found the GDL90 implementation to be quite buggy. I'm a software developer myself, so I've been doing some trial and error and noticed this:
1) It's quite annoying that GDL90 is only supported via UDP and not via Bluetooth. However, I managed to work round this by using a bluetooth-to-UDP app. So it's not too bad.
2) When connecting to my Stratux directly, the connection is quite unstable. Sometimes "Waiting for device" pops up for several seconds and then the connection works again, sometimes there is a timeout and I'm thrown out of flying-mode. As soon as I hit the "Fly" button, the connection is immediately established again. I used a UDP sniffer to evaluate if it's a problem on the Stratux side. However, there is a constant stream of data without any hickups, so it seems to be a problem with Skydemon.
3) Missing traffic: When connecting via Wifi/UDP, in many cases I don't see any traffic at all (yes, the limit is set to 50000ft), while on the Stratux website, there is quite a lot of ADS-B traffic. This is clearly a Skydemon issue, because: