SkyDemon Forums

Finding waypoints

http://forums.skydemon.aero/Topic29143.aspx

By David N. - 8/5/2019 11:49:43 AM

At a recent flight in Polen, I was diverted to waypoint 'LUXAL' during flight. Due to turbulent weather, difficult communication and very limited airspace/time to navigate within it would have been nice if options that would fit the search criteria would be a bit more intelligent. LUXAL does not appear as a waypoint until you have typed the the full name dispite it should be evident (based on distance) when either LU or LUX has been entered.
During flight, I pushed the SD icon (top left), pressed 'Direct to' & 'Find':
Typing L - gives 25-28 options, none is LUXAL
Typing LU - gives 1-2 options, none is LUXAL
Typing LUX - gives 1-4 options, none is LUXAL
Typing LUXA - gives 0 options, none is LUXAL (obviously) 
Typing LUXAL - gives 1 (correct) option

This contributes to unnecessary high mental workload.
Please make it more logical/intelligent.



By David N. - 8/6/2019 1:40:00 PM

emporer - 8/6/2019 1:32:55 PM
just turn the waypoints ON in the layer menu:waypoints/airway reporting pointsthan you will see them


True, I got that ... but in turbulent air with a Polish operator hard to read and diversion instructions to be implemented immediately ... I prefer typing instead trying to visually find it on the map.