SkyDemon Forums

SD crashes with PilotAware and lots of traffic

http://forums.skydemon.aero/Topic23695.aspx

By Tim Dawson - 6/26/2017 8:53:06 AM

I have no knowledge of any traffic device generating more data than SkyDemon can handle.
By mmcp42 - 6/26/2017 12:09:56 PM

Tim Dawson - 6/26/2017 8:53:06 AM
I have no knowledge of any traffic device generating more data than SkyDemon can handle.

decided to test some more
s‌at at home
o‌nly 3 or 4 contacts
t‌he text box "working offline" keeps popping up
a‌nd then it crashed
h‌ow can I get diagnostics/log to see what's going wrong?
c‌heers
By mmcp42 - 6/26/2017 12:43:27 PM

update
s‌witched to "always offline" mode
s‌eems to be more stable
c‌oincidence?

p‌erhaps losing the link, trying to download chart updates then getting the link back?
d‌unno just guessing Smile
By Sky Painter - 6/27/2017 10:30:05 AM

mmcp42 - 6/26/2017 12:43:27 PM
update
s‌eems to be more stable
c‌oincidence?

p‌erhaps losing the link, trying to download chart updates then getting the link back?

Sounds plausible to me. Whilst in the air, your device will be using a huge amount of resources and power looking for a WiFi connection, to the detriment of running apps.

E‌dit ...which is why I always turn off WiFi when going flying!‌
By mmcp42 - 6/27/2017 11:11:31 AM

Sky Painter - 6/27/2017 10:30:05 AM
update
s‌eems to be more stable
c‌oincidence?

Sounds plausible to me. Whilst in the air, your device will be using a huge amount of resources and power looking for a WiFi connection, to the detriment of running apps.

but how do you connect to PilotAware with wifi off?
By Sky Painter - 6/27/2017 1:34:05 PM

mmcp42 - 6/27/2017 11:11:31 AM
Sky Painter - 6/27/2017 10:30:05 AM
update
s‌eems to be more stable
c‌oincidence?

but how do you connect to PilotAware with wifi off?